Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

To jointly edit and share content, you can assign specific rights to folders or individual content.

Content

 

What rights are there?

DepositNew content can be added and edited.This right is only available for folders. Users can add new and edit existing content in a folder. However, existing content from other users is not visible to them.
ReadThe content is visible and available for previewing.A user who has this right can see the resource in the question bank, open the resource's info view, and preview the resource.
ExportThe content is visible, available for previewing, and can be exported (including QTI, PDF).This setting activates the duplicate and export buttons in the question bank as well as the edit view of tests. The user can therefore export tasks from the question bank or duplicate them within a test.
ModifyThe content is visible, available for previewing, and can be exported and edited.A user with this right can alter the original files’ rights.
CuratorAll content functions are accessible.

Users with this right have complete access to the content and all functionality therein.

This right is linked to the legal structures of the learning platform OPAL. 

Where can I assign and manage rights? 

The assignment of rights is done in the information area of a resource. Open this area by clicking on the info iconin the Actions column. Then switch to the tab Rights. 

Rechteverwaltung einer Ressource öffnen

All users who already have rights to the resource are listed in a table. Assigned user rights are indicated with a checkmark symbol. In the example, there are no other users with rights to the resource except for the author. 

Assign rights

To assign a new right, click on the Add button underneath the table. 

Berechtigung hinzufügen

First, the user search opens. Look for users of your own institution using their first or last name or user name. To assign rights to users of other institutions, enter the full user name in the search field. 

Nutzersuche starten

If there are search results, you can now start with the assignment of rights:

1In the search results, select the user to whom you want to assign rights.Berechtigungen einem Nutzer zuordnen
2In the Assign rights section, select the required rights.
3Optionally, you can also send the user a notification email. To do this, mark the checkbox in the Notify section. Further settings to configure your emails will open.
4

Confirm the assignment of rights with Assign.

If rights are assigned to folders, these rights will affect all resources contained in the folder. Such rights, also referred to as inherited rights, are marked with a lock symbol in the rights table.

Edit rights

Assigned rights can be edited at any time, with the exception of inherited rights. They can therefore be extended but also restricted. 

To change a user’s rights, proceed as follows: 

1

In the rights table, click the pencil icon in the Actions column next to the desired user. 

Rechte bearbeiten
2

It opens the single view of the rights of the selected user. Now select the new right. At this point, you can also optionally send an email to the user. 

Einzelansicht der Berechtigungen eines Nutzers
3

Confirm your choice with Assign. 


Edit inherited rights 

An inherited right refers to rights that users have received from a higher level of the question bank. They are marked with a lock symbol and can only be edited or removed at the level at which they were assigned. 

 Open example ...

In the example, the user Alma Author has received the right Export for a folder. The image shows a task located in this folder. 

Here, the user additionally has the right Modify and can therefore edit the original task. 

If you now select the pencil icon to edit the rights of the user for this resource, you can assign the additional right Curator or restrict them to the right Export. However, the right Export cannot be removed. This would only be possible from the folder. 

Delete rights

Assigned rights can be deleted at any time, with the exception of inherited rights. It is therefore possible to remove rights. 

To delete the rights of one or more users, proceed as follows: 

1

In the rights table, mark the checkboxes in front of the users whose rights you want to delete. 

2

Then select the Remove button from below the table. 

3

Confirm the dialogue to permanently remove the rights. 

In the example, all rights of the selected users were removed, with the exception of the inherited rights. 

Vererbte Berechtigungen
  • No labels