Zum Ende der Metadaten springen
Zum Anfang der Metadaten

The ONYX Testsuite uses established standards in all areas to ensure a sustainable e-assessment solution. The ONYX Testsuite’s data model is based on the IMS QTI v2.1 specifications, meaning all content is available in standardised format. The results data is also shown in standardised form as an IMS QTI v2.1 report. The metadata is described using the open LOM standard.

The current publication (November 2012) of IMS LTI 2.0 is designed to keep making the ONYX interfaces available as LTI interfaces, even in future.

As a member of the IMS QTI working group, we are actively involved with further developing the specification documents. The ONYX Testsuite serves as the reference implementation for IMS QTI v2.1, and, in 2011 and 2014, received the Learning Impact Award for its sustainable approach using open standards and providing flexible, integrable assessment modules.

Content

IMS QTI

The globally recognised IMS Question and Test Interoperability (QTI) specification 2.1 forms the conceptual basis of the ONYX Testsuite. Almost all valuable functions of the Onyx Testsuite rely on this standard. Apart from content replaceability, further advantages are also generated by using QTI. The strict separation of content and layout and the XML-based mapping of all test and task content lay the foundations for an independent end format, and for editing existing content later on. The IMS QTI specifications stipulate replacing the test content as an IMS Content Package. This file archive contains a summary of all test data, the LOM metadata, and media therein. Formulae are described in MathML-Notation within the test data.

Apart from the standard storage of test data, ONYX also stores the result data in accordance with IMS QTI. The IMS QTI Report file contains all test analysis data, including the learner responses, time stamps and points scored. The result file is expanded for manual assessments, enabling the assessment process to be traced. The results can also undergo a CSV export.

The ONYX Editor allows test data to be imported and exported to other formats, such as IMS QTI v1.2. The system manufacturers gave IMS QTI v1.2 a very heterogeneous design, meaning imports and exports are system-specific. The IMS QTI v1.2 Import was tested for Blackboard, WebCT and OLAT. A PDF Export is available in the ONYX Editor to allow the compiled test data to also be used in paper-based test scenarios. Various conversions have additionally been made for proprietary formats.

Platinum Learning Impact Award

IEEE LOM

ONYX supports the open IEEE Learning Object Metadata (LOM) Standard which is recommended by the IMS QTI specification. The metadata is thus described in XML-Notation in the test data’s IMS Manifest. For each ONYX editor instance a metadata configuration can determine which metadata fields and values are displayed to the author in the ONYX Editor and how they should mapped to IEEE LOM.

Standard metadata profile

Standard metadata profile

Customized metadata profile

Customized metadata profile

Zum Ende der Metadaten springen
Zum Anfang der Metadaten

Um eine nachhaltige E-Assessment-Lösung zu gewährleisten nutzt die ONYX Testsuite in allen Bereichen etablierte Standards. Das Datenmodell der ONYX Testsuite basiert auf der IMS QTI v2.1 Spezifikation. Alle Inhalte liegen damit in einem standardisierten Format vor. Auch die Ergebnisdaten werden als IMS QTI v2.1-Report in standardisierter Form abgebildet. Die Beschreibung der Metadaten erfolgt mit dem offenen Standard LOM.

Als Mitglied der IMS QTI working group sind wir aktiv an der Weiterentwicklung der Spezifikationsdokumente beteiligt. Die ONYX Testsuite dient als Referenzimplementierung für IMS QTI v2.1. Für den nachhaltigen Ansatz, durch die Nutzung offener Standards und die Bereitstellung flexibler, integrierbarer Assessment-Module wurde die ONYX Testsuite 2011 und 2014 mit dem Learning Impact Award ausgezeichnet.

Inhalt

IMS QTI

Die konzeptionelle Basis der ONYX Testsuite bildet die weltweit anerkannte IMS Question and Test Interoperability (QTI) Spezifikation 2.1. Fast alle wertvollen Funktionalitäten der Onyx Testsuite gehen auf diesen Standard zurück. Neben der Austauschbarkeit der Inhalte werden durch den Einsatz von QTI weitere Vorteile erreicht. Die strikte Trennung von Inhalt und Layout und die XML-basierte Abbildung der gesamten Test- und Aufgabeninhalte sind Grundlage für die Unabhängigkeit vom Endformat und die Möglichkeit, existierende Inhalte nachträglich zu bearbeiten. Die IMS QTI Spezifikation sieht einen Austausch der Testinhalte als IMS Content Package vor. Dieses Dateiarchiv enthält zusammengefasst alle Testdaten, die LOM-Metadaten und enthaltene Medien. Formeln werden innerhalb der Testdaten in MathML-Notation beschrieben.

Neben der standardkonformen Speicherung der Testdaten speichert ONYX auch die Ergebnisdaten IMS QTI konform. Die IMS QTI Report-Datei enthält alle Testauswertungsdaten, inklusive der Lernerantworten, Zeitstempel und erreichten Punkte. Bei einer manuellen Bewertung wird die Ergebnisdatei erweitert, wodurch auch der Bewertungsverlauf nachvollziehbar ist. Ebenfalls ist ein CSV-Export der Ergebnisse möglich.

Der ONYX Editor bietet Möglichkeiten zum Import und Export von Testdaten in andere Formate, so auch IMS QTI v1.2. IMS QTI v1.2 wurde sehr heterogen von den Systemherstellern umgesetzt, so das Import und Export systemspezifisch sind. Geprüft wurde der IMS QTI v1.2 Import für Blackboard, WebCT und OLAT. Um die erstellten Testdaten auch in papierbasierten Testszenarien einzusetzen, steht ein PDF-Export im ONYX Editor zur Verfügung. Darüber hinaus wurden bereits verschiedene Konvertierungen für proprietäre Formate realisiert.

Platinum Learning Impact Award

IEEE LOM

ONYX unterstützt große Teile des offenen IEEE Lerning Object Metadata (LOM) Standards. Die Metadatenbeschreibung erfolgt damit in XML-Notation im IMS Manifest der Testdaten. Welche Metadaten im ONYX Editor dem Autor tatsächlich angezeigt werden, kann in einer Metadatenkonfiguration festgelegt werden.

Standard Metadatenprofi

Standard Metadatenprofi

Spezifisches Metadatenprofil

Spezifisches Metadatenprofil