Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

A resource of the type Course can be closed by the course owner. This means that the course is no longer edited and updated. However, all user and transactional data (e.g. forum and wiki posts) is retained and can still be accessed. You can access the function to close a course from the list view within the tab Teach & Learn or the opened course resource.

Content

To close one or more courses in the list view, proceed as follows:

  1. Select the entry My Courses – supervising from the Teach & Learn menu.
  2. Mark the checkbox of the course you want to close.
  3. Then click on the close icon in the table head.
Close the desired course(s)

4. In the window that opens, select the desired actions to be performed upon closing the course. Run the close function by clicking on Close course(s) .

If you remove all tutors and participants from the learning and right groups of the course, you will no longer be able to view the learners' performance results in tests, tasks, etc. via the assessment tool.

Important notes

  • The configuration of the course (course settings, visibility and access rules) remains unchanged.
  • All authorised users continue to have access to the course content according to their individual rights.
  • All user and transactional data (e.g. forum and wiki posts) is retained and can still be accessed and edited.
  • All bookmark links to the course(s) show the status [closed].
  • Closed courses are no longer displayed in the portlets on the home page.
  • Closed courses are always displayed at the bottom of tables (e.g. favourites).
  • ATTENTION! Closing courses cannot be reversed.
Dialogue for closing courses
5. The course will be removed from the list My Courses supervising and added to the list My CoursesClosed .

Close course in course view

To close a course directly in the opened course view, proceed as follows:

1Open the desired course and click on the expand icon in the upper right corner. Select the entry Close . Close course function
2To delete the resource, confirm the dialogue with OK .