Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Symbol GruppenGroups allow for a cooperative learning and working process. A learner can participate in course-related learning groups and additionally create and manage independent working groups. In the following section, both types of groups will be presented and explained from the learners' perspective.

Course-related groups including learning and right groups can only be created by users with appropriate rights. Further information for course authors on the use and administration of learning groups and other group types can be found in the section Groups.

Use of groups: Learners' view

Working groups

Working groups can be created and used by any user independent of any course. They allow group members to collaborate within the group, for example, by exchanging documents or communicating via email or forum. They are an appropriate means of student self-organisation, unlike courses and learning groups, which can only be managed by authors.

Working groups can support project works. Especially in projects where interdisciplinary work is carried out or scientific staff are involved; working groups improve the organisation and coordination by means of CSCW (computer-assisted group work). In addition, the efficiency of the project work is increased by a fast as well as time- and location-independent exchange.

Further information on how to work with working groups:

Learning groups

Learning groups are linked to one or several courses. They can only be created by authors and must depend on a course.

This type of group is, for example, used for enrolments and registrations. It can also be used to configure access or visibility rights to learning resources and course elements. For further information on how to work with learning groups, authors can refer to the section Groups.

Find groups

You can search for groups via the search field in the upper right corner of the learning platform. Enter the title of the group and click on the magnifying glass icon. The tab Search results opens. Select the function Advanced search and activate the checkbox Groups.

Please note that only groups in which you are enrolled as a participant or tutor will be displayed. Further information can be found in the section Search and find content.

Central search field

Portlet "My Groups"

On the home page in the portlet My Groups, you will find all groups in which you are enrolled as a tutor or participant. The portlet also allows you to open a selected group directly.

More information about portlets and their configuration options can be found in the section Personalise home page.

Portlet My Groups

Teach & Learn

Another option to access your groups is via the area Teach & Learn. In the menu on the left under My Groups, you will find your groups divided into those you supervise and those in which you are enrolled as a participant. When you are invited to a group, another menu entry is displayed.

In the course

You will also find your learning groups in the associated course.

At the end of the course menu, you will see the entry Groups, which can be expanded via the triangle icon. A list of groups that are referenced in the course opens. You can, however, only see groups you are participating in or for which you have editing rights.

You will also receive an overview of all groups in the course by directly clicking on the entry "Groups". In this case, the table Groups in the course opens in the middle of the page. The displayed groups can be directly opened in the course context. Just click on the group name in the course navigation or in the overview "Groups in the course".

Groups in the course

Mark as favourite

 Mark a group as a favourite via the star icon to find it faster. For more information, see the section Favourites.

Leave groups

As a learner, you can leave working groups at any time, however, leaving learning groups depends on the configuration from the course supervisor.

To leave a group, proceed as follows:

  1. Open the area Teach & Learn and select My Groups - Participating. Your groups will be displayed in the middle of the page.
2. In the list view, click on the exit icon in the column Actions.Exit group button in the table view
3. If you are currently using the preview for the group entries in the table, you will find the exit button at the end of the group entry.Exit group button in the preview

The icon for leaving a group is only displayed if this action is possible.

Authors can also limit the possibility of withdrawing to a certain period of time or prohibit members from leaving a learning group entirely. For more information on configuration options for groups, please refer to the help section Groups.