Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata


General access to courses and learning resources is controlled via the publication status. Depending on this status, the content in the system will be visible to different user groups.

To adjust the general access, assign the following status labels:

 Publication statusShort descriptionAccess for the following user groups

Private - only visible to you

B

Only owners of the learning resource

Review - visible to other authors

BA

Owners and anyone who has author rights in the system

Public - visible to registered users

BAR

Anyone who can log on to the system

Public - visible to registered and external usersBAR | E
  • Anyone who can log on to the system
  • External users are allowed to work in courses

Public - visible to everyone

BARG

Worldwide publication, access is also granted to anonymous users

Public - visible to everyone and external users

BARG | E

  • Worldwide publication, access is also granted to anonymous users
  • External users are allowed to work in courses

Initial access

When a course or learning resource is created, the access is initially restricted to the owner of the learning resource (or B), and the first publication of a course must be done using the course editor.

Publication assistant in the course editor

Access to courses can be changed directly when publishing a course. Use the assistant in the course editor to guide you through the process:

1

Open the course you wish to publish in the course view. Use the pencil icon at the top of the page to open the editing mode.

Open the course editor

2

The following should be considered in advance:

  • The content marked with a red X in the course menu of the course editor still contains errors or is not fully configured. In addition to that mark, the errors are also displayed at the top of the course page. To publish this content, you first need to fix the specified errors.
  • New content ready to publish will be marked with a green tick in the course menu.
  • As soon as there is new course content, the entry Publish will be highlighted in the Editor tools menu on the right.


The legend for these and other symbols can be found in the course editor at the bottom of the page.

Symbols in the course editor

3

Start the assistant by selecting Publish from the Editor tools  menu. 

4

Step 1 gives an overview of the included course elements. New or edited course elements will be automatically marked with a tick and published in the next steps. If you do not wish to publish individual course elements yet, remove the tick from the corresponding checkbox. Click on Step 2 to continue.

5

In Step 2, you can make more changes and, if necessary, specify a particular time for these changes to be implemented in Step 3.

6

Follow the remaining steps of the assistant and complete your settings with Finish.


For a course resource, the options Public – visible to registered users (BAG) and Public – visible to everyone (BARG) allow you to also enable access for so-called "external users". Just activate the checkbox External users can contribute to the course. For more information on external users, please refer to the help section Roles and rights

Change publication status from within the course view

To change the publication status of a course in the course view, proceed as follows:

1

Open the course or learning resource and click on the gear icon.

Adjust visibility from within the course

2

Select the desired option.

3

Confirm your choice with Save.

Reference course in the catalogue

Published content should be displayed in a meaningful catalogue structure to allow learners to perform a thematic search for available learning resources in addition to the global search. The learning platform provides a separate area called catalogue in which these resources can be referenced. Instructions on how to include your course in the catalogue can be found in the help section Add course to the catalogue.